Eden Audit Information

Summary:

Eden accounts will be deleted the morning of: Tuesday, Apr 25 2017

Details:

Examples of accounts that are most likely to be affected include:

  • Alumni who graduated over 1 year ago
  • Alumni who are NOT registered for this semester
  • Students who have left the university for any reason
  • Students who are NOT registered for any classes at Rutgers this semester
  • Students who have changed their student ID number
  • Students with two different ID numbers: one as an employee (SSN) and one as a student
  • Students with incorrect or incomplete official data
  • Guests who are no longer at Rutgers University
  • Expired Guests who need to renew their Eden guest status
  • Faculty/Staff who are no longer at Rutgers University
  • OIT staff members who we believe no longer need eden accounts for work reasons
  • New Brunswick Computing Services (NBCS) TYPE4 employee accounts (these exist for work reasons ONLY!)
Deleted users' files, webpages, and emails will be archived and removed from the system 8 weeks after the account deletion date. These files will NOT be available to those users who are no longer affiliated with Rutgers University, i.e. alumni. Only current students, faculty and staff members can retrieve old files within that 8 weeks.

If your account/NetID was erroneously deleted or placed on the list scheduled to be deleted, please contact help@eden.rutgers.edu (or the Help Desk) to save your account from deletion or have your account established again and your files restored. However, they will need to verify that you are a currently registered student of Rutgers University; or that your school, department or dean supports the continuation of your account. Continuation is available only in exceptional circumstances (ie: medical leave, military leave, registration/financial aid problems, study abroad, etc.) and requires documentation from your dean or department chair.

If your account is required for NBCS work reasons, your manager can send an email with an explaination of why it's still required. This usually affects ex-student NBCS TYPE4 employees that work for the Campus labs or the Helpdesk. The managers can send a "save" request to accounts@eden.rutgers.edu for consideration prior to the account's removal. Rutgers New Brunswick-hosted faculty/staff system

Students who become University employees generally establish accounts on the Rutgers New Brunswick-hosted faculty/staff RCI (Research Computing Initiative) cluster or ScarletApps "scarletmail" (Rutgers' implementation of Google Apps for Education) or "connect" the Rutgers email, calendar, and cloud service (Rutgers' Office 365 suite by Microsoft). To get help with moving your Eden files off, contact help@eden.rutgers.edu.

OIT staff members who believe they still require an eden account for their jobs need to contact accounts@eden.rutgers.edu with a save request. Their request must include an explanation with specific reasons as to why and how the account is required for work.

 

What should I do before the account is deleted?

If you will be losing your Eden account, you may want to take some of the following steps.
  • Move all important files off of the account, onto either another account or a desktop system using something like SFTP (Secure File Transfer Protocol). You do not need to "clean out" the account for us. No one will be able to get your old files.
  • Notify your regular correspondents, mailing lists, etc., about your change of address. We cannot forward mail from a deleted account to another address.
  • If you have a web page, transfer it to another account, if possible. Replace the main page (usually index.html) with one either giving your page's new address or announcing the eventual closure of the page.

 

What happens after the account is deleted?

  • All files on the account will be deleted. This includes mail forwarding files, automatic responses, and web pages.
  • Any e-mail addressed to such an account will be returned to the sender (i.e., bounced) with an automatic message of the type "No such user at this site". If the sender's listed address turns out to be unreachable (e.g., through a typo), the message will be lost.

 

How do I know my account will be saved?

If you have been in contact with the Help Desk, you can use the check your audit status lookup. Please note that the page updates daily, so any change in status might not be reflected until the next business day. If your NetID comes up as SAVED, your account will remain active until the next audit.

 

If my account was already deleted, how can I restore my files?

Please contact the help@eden.rutgers.edu (or the Help Desk). If you are able to recreate your Eden account within 8 weeks of the account deletion date you will be able to retrieve your old files.

 

For any additional questions or concerns:

Email help@eden.rutgers.edu, or contact your Campus Computing Help Desk.

Check the EDEN web page for student computing information: http://www.eden.rutgers.edu/

Return to the account audit home page.